#TMPompey

I take it all back, I really do. You guys frakking rock.

I am of course talking about my statement in this presentation that I made a few weeks back. Turns out the good UK Tweeps were hidden behind a wall of feedspam and retweets. Classic case of vocal minority overcoming (less) vocal majority.

Having found a bunch of cool people from the South of England on Twitter, I was pretty excited to go to #TMPompey on Wednesday 6th. So excited I signed up to share something I had only just started a few weeks back in a 2min micropresentation.

Anyways, I bailed out of our department meeting early to take the train to Pompey, which was fine, apart from the HUGE mob of students from a local college that joined the trained at an unamed station in a city that used to be the capital of Wessex. They just took up so much space!

Anyways, following awkward intorductions to @rj1981, @jodebens and @daviderogers (I really need to get used to introducing myself as my twitter tag. Or get a tshirt like @absvalteaching) We got started with some very cool presentations. So much enthusiasm in one room was AMAZEBALLS. And there were so many MORE people than I thought. Clearly I was wrong in expecting to give a presentation to a half empty classroom somewhere. Thank god for tweepy pep talks (even if they were a bit late… not at all looking at [Pai]…)

I spent a lot of time thinking how cool so much of the stuff I saw would be for my sister, who teaches Year 5. I don’t know if it is representative, but a large portion of the crowd seemed to be primary. Which is fine because actually they still have things for me to steal. (p.s. appropriate quote of the eveing: ‘You steal a lot don’t you?’)

Then the randomiser hit my name and I apparently hit overdrive with this bad boy:

Holy lord ignite is HARD I think I got a bunch of stuff over, but I think maybe all people got was ‘This guy talks really fast and likes math’ Which kinda sums me up a bit. But still.

Turns out 2min really is micro! Even when you talk really fast.

So I think it went ok.

And once we were done with the edu stuff, things got hardcore. I haven’t played laser quest in a long time, but it was so much fun. Legs were achey for days though. And dinner with a bunch of really cool people. And then a godawful journey home from which I was saved by my hero of a lil sis. ON A SCHOOL NIGHT! #protip – never try to get a train home from Portsmouth Harbour.

So yeah, the Mathstwitterblogosphere is still the best twitterblogosphere. But #TeachMeets are pretty damned cool.

/out

This entry was posted in Blogs, Conferences, INB, TeachMeet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #TMPompey

  1. Fawn Nguyen says:

    You’re like the male version of Hedge (approx_normal) when you write, Nik. I love it. Like this line: “They just took up so much space!”

    There are just a lot of cool math teachers/bloggers out there, huh? That’s why I’m going to #TMC13, Nik. Get a ticket!!

    You rock, young man.

  2. nik_d_maths says:

    Thanks Fawn! I appreciate you coming over to my little corner ๐Ÿ™‚

    I want a ticket… I really do… Ima tell Hedgie what you said too ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. approxnormal says:

    HAHAHAHAHA!! I love it. I think Nik is almost as hyper as I am, we just need to work on his A.D.D. It’s nowhere near as severe as mine. Ignite IS difficult!! But it’s probably the only #globalmath presentation I did where I was on topic the whole time and didn’t go off in left field.

    I’m glad you got to do a TMC jr version of what you’ll do this summer. Can’t wait to cause tons of mischief on everyone with you this summer… Because you’re coming… Hedge has spoken. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And since I’m being bossy… You need to blog more. I like to read it. K, Thanks.

Leave a Reply

