Collaborative Planning – Round One

Ok, so I talked about this here, and got folks to sign up here, so now I bring you the plan! (For a first attempt at least)

Th summarise; I would like to get some folks together to have a go at looking at the fact that:

  • It can be hard to plan in isolation
  • Sometimes you need to talk a lesson idea over before using it
  • Sometimes topics are difficult to plan
  • Planning/discussing lessons as a group is fun

[repeat from my previous post]

I see each initial session (for about one hour, but if we are done in that time then great, and if we overrun; no worries!) having 3 parts (based on responses from my original form – please feel free to add to this if you would like)

  • Task makeover: Either using Dan Meyer’s format to look at a textbook task or using something someone has submitted for us to look at close to the subject matter we will try to discuss and create something we like better around it.
  • Task placement: Talk about how this would this fit into a larger scheme of work – prerequisites and follow ups.
  • Task discussion/questions: Use this time to ask any questions you might have about the task, and to get any help you might want filling in any sort of lesson plan pro forma you might need to do – looking at PGCEers and NQTs here!

I have embedded a form with proposed time slots. I have tried to cover morning and afternoon for most of the US and afternoon and evening for the UK. I hope I haven’t cut anyone out. I am available at all these times; but I can only see this working with at least three people. So the day before each slot I will look at the results and create a G+ event for the session if there at least two others.

The three topics I have chosen are Algebra, Geometry and Stats. If you want to do something else (Pre-calc, Calc, Algebra II, GCSE or A-Level specific or something), try to commit to make a flex session and let me know what you would like – I’ll try to connect with others who want to do the same.

This entry was posted in Blogs, General Maths Thoughts, Lessons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

