#ExploreMTBoS Task 2 – Ode to Twitter

Screen Shot 2013-09-14 at 7.39.21 PMTwitter has been a revelation to me this last year. It has helped change the way I collaborate, communicate and develop as a teacher. It has connected me with so many people I now consider among my best friends. It has given me an outlet for passion, frustration, failure and success. And yes; I do see tweets about people’s breakfast/lunch/dinner/shopping trip/child/pet/anything else that happens to be going on in their lives. And that’s ok, because these people are not phantoms who live thousands of miles away (well most of them). They are people I know and care about and share my life with as well as sharing ideas, thoughts and arguments.

When I gave this presentation I talked about four things that make twitter great:

It’s Immediate
Immediate
It has reach
Reach
It has Hashtags
Hastags
It makes us a Community.
Community

I love twitter. I miss all those I met at #TMC13. I can’t recommend signing up enough

This entry was posted in Blogs, Conferences, Tech and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #ExploreMTBoS Task 2 – Ode to Twitter

  1. Cleargrace says:

    You are one of the people I’ve met in my twitter travels! Thank you. I also started following your blog. I enjoy the way you write. And I like tweeting ( is a tweeter a “twit”? Have a great Sunday!

  2. I’m going to talk about Twitter at an upcoming PD day at my school and I love your four things that make Twitter great! I love how immediate the responses are from this supportive community. It was nice to meet you at TMC 🙂

  3. Kaci McCoy says:

    I wish there was a “like” button I could click after every statement you wrote! You are spot on, my friend! I’m the only math teacher in my middle school, so it’s great to be able to reach across the globe (literally) and talk to someone who is like-minded! See you out there in MTBoS!

    • nik_d_maths says:

      Thank you! Being the only teacher for Maths must be crazy stuff; I guess you know all the students in the whole school then!? The reach of this community is amazing, it’s crazy that you can get help from people thousands of miles away. 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    I’m also scheduled to talk about twitter in an upcoming PD at my school, and I like to tell people that it’s like ‘casting a very wide net’ and ‘only catching the fish you want to catch’.

    Sandra @sandrasoupmaker
    http://allrealnumbers.edublogs.org/

Leave a Reply

